Schofield’s Best Season Rewarded with Lynn Medal

Friday, October 6, 2017 - 9:19 AM

Jayden Schofield has capped arguably his best season of senior football with the Sharks by claiming his first Lynn Medal.  Held in front of 300 guests, Schofield won a tight count on 76 votes from key big man Matthew Watson who finished on 71.  Schofield’s season, where he finished as the senior side’s highest possession getter, averaging 26 per game, also saw him named in the WAFL Team of the Year, playing off half back. 

Big man Watson, really found his feet in his second year at the club.  Showing versatility, playing as both key forward and ruck Watson took the 4th most marks for the Sharks, was a close second in hit outs and easily won the goal kicking. 


Finishing third in the count was powerful mid Jonathon Marsh on 57 votes.  After returning from the AFL, Marsh had an instant impact for the Sharks, where he finished third in possessions despite missing 5 games to injury, averaging 28 per match.  He also had the second most clearances for the Sharks.  Marsh was the sole Shark selected for the WA State Team. 

 Matthew Jupp and Cameron Eardley shared the honours for 4th place on 46 votes.  Key defender Jupp was tasked with playing on many of the oppositions biggest forwards, however he carried out his role very well.  Jupp finished 2nd in marks for East Fremantle and 2nd in the WAFL for spoils.  The hard-nosed Eardley has been a consistent Lynn Medal place getter.  He averaged 26 disposals per match and ranked 1st for the side in clearances.  Eardley also led all comers for the Sharks in effective tackles.

In other key awards Corey Holmes (2016 Colts Runner-Up) won the best first year, with Tom Bennett, who also made his debut, was awarded the Rising Star.  Despite missing most of the season with injury, Tim Bristow continued to be a positive influence around the club and in the community, claiming both the clubman and community awards.

Lynn Medal Top Ten

Jayden Schofield                                        76 votes

Matthew Watson                                      71

Jonathon Marsh                                         57

Matthew Jupp & Cameron Eardley          46

George Hampson                                       35

Andrew Stephen                                         32

Tom Marshall                                             31

Sam Read                                                    30

Dion Anthony                                             30


Other Award Winners:

Best First Year Player – Corey Holmes

Rising Star Award – Tom Bennett

Leading Goal Kicker – Matthew Watson

Best Clubman – Tim Bristow

EFFC Community Award – Tim Bristow


Ben Harding capped off a fantastic development league season by taking out the Henry Jeffrey Medal.  After claiming the WAFL’s Prendergast Medal, Harding polled 55 votes to win comfortably from Peter Delaney, who finished on 43.  A further vote back was Alex Montauban, with Joel Kalajzic (39) and Corey Holmes (38) rounding out the top 5.


Jeffrey Medal Top Ten

Ben Harding                                                55 votes

Peter Delaney                                             43

Alex Montauban                                         42

Joel Kalajzic                                                 39

Corey Holmes                                             38

Sean Henson                                               36

Jye Clements                                               34

Tom Omodei                                               33

Dion Anthony                                             24

Miles Franklin                                             23


The Colts Trott Medal went right down to the grand final game, with an exciting tie between Jayden Quill and Zach Jackson, both finishing on 95 votes.  Another defender in Liam Rajanayagam took out third place with 88 votes, whilst grand final best on ground Chris Scott (76) and leading goalkicker Dillon O’Reilly completing the to five with 69 votes. 


Trott Medal Top 10

Jayden Quill & Zach Jackson                      95 votes

Liam Rajanayagam                                     88

Chris Scott                                                   76

Dillon O’Reilly                                             69

Kennedy Sorrell                                          68

Josh Ritchie                                                 64

Brandon Collard                                         63

Sam Lewis                                                   59

Dylan Campbell                                          55

Other award winners:

Best First Year Player – Zach Jackson

Best Player in Finals – Tom Joyce

Most Dedicated – Mitch Anderson

1% Award – Dwayne Nevill

Past Players Encouragement Award – Brandon Collard