Jupp's Best Season Rewarded with Lynn Medal

Friday, October 4, 2019 - 2:51 PM

Matthew Jupp has capped arguably his best season of senior football with the Sharks by claiming his first Lynn Medal.  Held in front of 250 guests, Jupp won the count on 171 votes, breaking away from the second placed Jarrad Jansen in the last few rounds.

Few votes separated Jupp and Jansen (who finished 158) for much of the early season, but Jupp was able to pull ahead after some dominant performances in the back half of the year.

This year saw the introduction of a new voting system for all three grades. Each round, the Head Coach and three assistants rate every player out of 5. The maximum number of votes attainable in any round is 20. 5 is rated as Exceptional, 4 is Excellent, 3 is Very Good, 2 is Good, 1 is Average and 0 is for Poor or Injured.

It was a fantastic individual season for the Vice-Captain, who managed to play every game and also register his 100th League match. Having really come into his own under new coach Bill Monaghan, Jupp has been an integral part of not only the Sharks’ backline but the leadership group as well.

Jarrad Jansen found his feet at the Club in 2019 and will go from strength to strength in the Blue & White. Averaging 20 possessions each game, Jansen has also stepped comfortably into a leadership role in his second year back at The Sharks.

Finishing third in the count was the ever-consistent Cameron Eardley. Averaging 24 disposals a game, Eardley finished as the top possession getter for East Fremantle.

Tom Bennett’s return from a year away from football saw him finish in fourth spot. Bennett became a staple in our league side, not missing a match for the year. At 22 years of age, Bennett has showed great promise for the future of the Sharks.

In his first year with East Fremantle, Kody Manning rounds out the top 5 in the Lynn Medal.

Lynn Medal Top Ten:

1st           Matthew Jupp                   171

2nd          Jarrad Jansen                     158

3rd           Cameron Eardley              144

4th           Thomas Bennett               142

5th           Kody Manning                   134

6th           Blaine Boekhorst              130

7Th          Morgan Davies                  128

8th           Jonathon Griffin                125

9th           Kyle Baskerville                 110

10th         Nick Kommer                     95

Matthew Burton surged home to claim the Henry Jeffery Medal. It was a close count leading into the finals but consistent showings from Burton in the midfield put him ahead of the second placed James Harrold.

Henry Jeffery Medal Top Ten:

1st           Matthew Burton              110

2nd          James Harrold                  102

3rd           Jesse Adamini                   101

4th           Corey Robinson                100

5th           Brynn Teakle                     98

6th           Jack Perham                      97

7th           Nick Watson                      89

8th           Harry Creasey                   83

9th           Tommy Marshall             82

10th         Jayden Quill                       81

After a fantastic season in the Colts, Michael Wright was awarded the Len Anderson Medal, finishing with 129 votes. The Geraldton product missed only one game in the Blue & White, averaging 14 disposals. Despite missing several games through state commitments, Captain Trent Rivers finished second in the count on 113 votes.  

Len Anderson Medal Top Ten:

1st           Michael Wright                129

2nd          Trent Rivers                        113

3rd           Chad Warner                    108

4th           Lachlan Taylor                  104

5th           Jack Carroll                         100

6th           Luke Jackson                     99

7th           Keanu Haddow                 94          

8th           Reuben McGuire              92

9th           Brandon Walker                90

9th           Chris Walker                       90

In the other awards, The League rising star went to Kyle Baskerville who is another youngster making his presence felt in the league side this year.

Shannon Bradshaw was awarded The Left Bank Community Award after she performed CPR on a citizen that had collapsed out the front of the club. Angelo Cuccovia was the very deserving winner of the Volunteer of the Year award. His dedication to the club is first class and we are very lucky to have him as part of the Sharks.

A full list of the Awards and Winners are below:

Award   Winner Sponsored By
2019 Lynn Medallist - Best & Fairest Matthew Jupp Lynn Family & Carter Shrigley Johnson Pittorini
2019 League Best and Fairest Runner Up  Jarrad Jansen Lisa O'Malley - Member for Bicton
2019 League 3rd Best & Fairest - Ray French Memorial Award Cam Eardley AOS
2019 League 4th Best & Fairest Tom Bennett Classic Contractors
2019 League 5th Best & Fairest Kody Manning Edinger Real Estate
2019 Players' Clubman (selected by Player Leaders) Alex Montauban Simon O'Brien - Member for South Metropolitan Region
David Spry Memorial Award    
2019 Patron's Rising Star Award Kyle Baskerville Tony Buhagiar
2019 The Left Bank Community Award Shannon Bradshaw The Left Bank
Reserves Awards    
2019 Henry Jeffery Medallist Matthew Burton Jeffery Family - Lorraine Birch
Colin Glennie Memorial Award - 2019 Reserves Runner Up Best & Fairest James Harrold John McGrath - Member for South Perth
Jack Baird Memorial Award - 2019 Reserves 3rd Best & Fairest Jesse Adamini Baird Family - Graeme Baird
2019 Reserves 4th Best & Fairest Corey Robinson LM Poole & Co
2019 Reserves 5th Best & Fairest Brynn Teakle IanTaylor - Vice Patron
Colts Awards    
2019 Len Anderson Medallist Michael Wright Harry Morgan - Vice Patron
2019 Colts Runner Up Best & Fairest Trent Rivers Radio Fremantle
2019  Colts 3rd Best & Fairest Chad Warner Retravision
2019 Colts 4th Best & Fairest Lachlan Taylor Exclusive Trophies
2019 Colts 5th Best & Fairest Jack Carroll EFFC Past Players & Officials Association
Colts Rising Star 2019 - Pud Beasley Memorial Award Luke Jackson EFFC Past Players and Officials
Mike Mikus Memorial Award 2019 - Most Dedicated Colts Player Josh Stedman Pam Mikus
Combined Past Players & Officials Encouragement Award Luke Dobson Combined Past Players & Officials Association
Club Awards    
Bob Fairclough Memorial Award 2019 Best Clubman - Volunteer of the Year  Angelo Cuccovia East Fremantle Past Players & Officials Association