Select grade below


Friday, October 8, 2021 - 9:21 AM

Kyle Baskerville Claims 2021 Lynn Medal

In front of over 280 guests, Kyle Baskerville was awarded the Sharks highest individual honour, The Lynn Medal.

Despite a slow start in the vote count, Baskerville came storming home to overtake the early leaders, the last 2 Lynn Medallists Matthew Jupp and Jarrad Jansen, to win by 6 votes.

Baskerville started the year as one of the competitions best shut down small defenders, but it was the inspired move to the midfield that saw the 2019 Rising Star take his game to the next level. Over the last 7 games as an inside mid, Baskerville averaged 27.9 disposals, 13 contested and 8 clearances to be one of the prime performing midfielders in the WAFL. Going into the last round of votes, Baskerville lead Jupp by 1 vote, with a 43-disposal game rubber stamping the win. 

Captain Matthew Jupp continued his outstanding form over the last 3 seasons with another top 5 finish. The 2019 Lynn Medal winner was once again rock solid in defence, finishing runner up with 151 votes. A model of consistency, Jupp lead from the front amongst a young backline group.

Jarrad Jansen again polled strongly, leading the count after 12 rounds and finishing in 3rd on 140 votes. Mainly deployed through the midfield, Jansen again lead the way in contested possession and tackles. Though an injury slowed him down over the backend of the season, Jansen play in all 18 games.

Luke Strnadica relished taking the mantle of the number 1 ruck position, finishing in 4th position with 139 votes. Strnadica finished 3rd for hitouts and 4th for hitouts to advantage in the WAFL to establish himself as one of the competitions premier ruckman.

Despite missing numerous games, Jonathon Marsh polled 133 votes to finish in 5th position. Marsh played the majority of the season as a key forward before a late year switch saw him spend more time through the midfield.

Enrique Aiken-Featherstone has claimed the Reserves Best and Fairest award, the Henry Jeffery Medal. A highly competitive player, Featherstone spent time down back and forward before settling down in the midfield half way through the season. First year player Ethan Paholski finished 2nd, while Adam Sereda backed up last seasons 3rd place with another 3rd place finish.

Tom McGrath was awarded the Len Anderson Medal for the Best and Fairest in the Colts. Playing mainly as a key defender, McGrath’s consistency throughout the season was a highlight. He averaged 13 disposals and also made the Colts Team of the Year. Josh Browne finished in 2nd place, 3 votes behind the leader. The prolific ball winner had an outstanding season.

Nic Kommer was also acknowledged for his time at East Fremantle after announcing his retirement at the seasons end. Nic has been a fantastic competitor for the Sharks and we wish him well in his future endeavours.

The voting system used across all three grades allows the head coach and three assistants to rate every player out of 5. The maximum number of votes attainable in any round is 20. 5 is rated as Exceptional, 4 is Excellent, 3 is Very Good, 2 is Good, 1 is Average and 0 is for Poor or Injured.

Lynn Medal Top 10

  1. Kyle Baskerville                       157 votes
  2. Matthew Jupp                         151 votes
  3. Jarrad Jansen                           140 votes
  4. Luke Strnadica                         139 votes
  5. Jonathon Marsh                       133 votes
  6. Cam Eardley                              130 votes

            Luke English                               130 votes

           Jamie Meade                              130 votes

       9. Blaine Boekhorst                       118 votes

       10. Tom Bennett                            118 votes


Henry Jeffery Medal Top 10        

  1. Enrique Aiken-Featherstone        116 votes
  2. Ethan Paholski                                  90 votes
  3. Adam Sereda                                     88 votes
  4. Tom Wallis                                          85 votes
  5. Jakob Ah Chee                                   84 votes
  6. Chris Walker                                       83 votes
  7. Tom Eastaugh                                    82 votes
  8. Brynn Teakle                                      81 votes
  9. Keanu Haddow                                  79 votes
  10.  Cody Smith                                        60 votes

Len Anderson Medal Top 10

  1. Tom McGrath                                       163 votes
  2. Josh Browne                                         160 votes
  3. Taj Woewodin                                       149 votes
  4. Jack Williams                                        144 votes
  5. Roc Hughes                                           137 votes
  6. Jed Hagan                                              136 votes
  7. Sam Collins                                            129 votes
  8. Luke Yeo                                                 121 votes
  9. Sam Emery                                            106 votes
  10. Judd McVee                                          105 votes


Other awards and announcements on the night:

2022 Match Ball Legend:             Bob Uittenbroek

Bob Fairclough Memorial Award - 2021 Best Clubman, Volunteer of the Year Award:

Winner: David Stark                      Sponsored by:  EFFC PP&OA

Left Bank Community Award:

Winner: Jonathon Marsh             Sponsored by: The Left Bank

David Spry Memorial Award – Shark of the Year:

Winner: Josh Schoenfeld             Sponsored by: Simon O’Brien, Vice Patron

Pud Beasley Memorial Award – Colts Rising Star Award:

Winner: Luke Yeo                          Sponsored by: EFFC PP&OA 

Combined Past Players & Officials Colts Encouragement Award:

Winner: Seth Connor                   Sponsored by:  Combined PP&OA

Mike Mikus Memorial Award – Colts Most Dedicated Player:

Winner:  Josh Cripps                     Sponsored by:  Pam Mikus

Colts Player of the Finals:

Winner: Jed Hagan                        Sponsored by:  John Ipsen

GNFL/EFFC Colts Player of the Year:

Winner:  Jed Hagan (Brigades FC)             Sponsored by: East Fremantle FC

Patrons’ Rising Star Award:

Winner:  Luke English                   Sponsored by:  Tony Buhagiar, Vice Patron