Hampson Claims 2018 Lynn Medal

Friday, October 5, 2018 - 2:40 PM

George Hampson has claimed the Sharks highest honour for 2018, the Lynn Medal. In front of 300 guests, Hampson won the count on 60 votes, holding on despite a late surge from the second placed Jonathon Marsh on 47 Votes.  It was a fantastic individual season for Hampson, who missed only one game this year after struggling with injury in the past. His performances in 2018 earned him a spot on the WAFL’s Team of the Year and the victorious state team alongside Jonathon Marsh. The Sharks highest possession getter, Hampson also notched his 100th WAFL game earlier this year.

Marsh was another beacon for the Sharks in 2018. His on-field presence as a leader and dominant player have been evident all year. Playing predominately down back this year, Marsh has held some of the competition’s best scoreless – his skills evident with his selection in the WAFL State side.

Finishing 3rd in the count was defender Dylan Winton on 43 Votes. At 22 years of age Winton has gone from strength to strength in 2018, despite the tough year for the Sharks. In his 3 seasons with East Fremantle, he has become a key figure in the backline.

Last year’s Lynn Medallist, Jayden Schofield came in at fourth with a close 42 votes. Despite missing 3 games this year, Schofield was again pivotal off half back.

Rounding out the top 5 for 2018 was Cameron Eardley on 40 Votes. A consistent and tenacious midfielder, Eardley finished 3rd in the Sharks disposal count, although missing two games.


Lynn Medal Top Ten

1st           George Hampson             60

2nd          Jonathon Marsh                47

3rd           Dylan Winton                     43

4th           Jayden Schofield               42

5th           Cameron Eardley              40

6th           Nick Kommer                     34

7th           Matthew Jupp                   32

8th           Dion Anthony                    29

9th           Cameron Loersch             26

10th        Jarrad Jansen                     23


In other awards, Cameron Loersch claimed the Rising Star and Leading Goal kicker. Despite missing most of the season with injury, Lachy Bailey continued to be a positive influence around the club and in the community, claiming both the clubman and community awards.


Zach Jackson capped off a fantastic Development League Season to take out the Henry Jeffery Medal. The rebounding defender made his league debut this year and will be an important player for the club in the future. Last year’s winner, Ben Harding came in at second place.

Henry Jeffery Medal Top 10

1st           Zach Jackson                      41

2nd          Ben  Harding                      30

3rd           Kimmy Schofield               25

4th           Corey Holmes                    22

5th           Nick Bonomelli                  20

6th           Leon Pearton                     19

7th           Dylan Williams                 17

8th           Joel Kalajzic                        16

9th           Russell Wynne                   15

9th           Tim Bockman                     15


Corey Robinson’s fantastic season in the Colts was awarded with the first Len Anderson Medal (Previously the Alan Trott Medal) on a whopping 127 Votes. At 18 years old, Robinson’s dominating year culminated in a league debut for the Sharks. Coming down to the last round, Nic Watson and Trent Rivers shared the second spot on 93 Votes.

Len Anderson Medal Top 10

1st            Corey  Robinson              127

2nd           Trent Rivers                       93

2nd           Nicholas Watson             93

4th            Cody Smith                        85

5th         Milan Murdock                 69

6th            Cameron Davidson         67

7th          Dylan Curley                       53

8th         Max  Murphy                     52

9th          Nick Patat                            50

9th         Joshua Ritchie                    50